Privacy, dignity and safety

“Privacy, dignity and safety” is the new code for driving trans women out of women’s wards, and “same-sex care” means treating trans clinicians as of their assigned sex at birth. The NHS consultation is about all sorts of things, but the press release headline only refers to trans people.

My privacy, dignity and safety matter, just as much as cis people’s. The 2019 NHS guidance provides for that. Trans people should be accommodated according to how we present, as the EHRC Code of practice says.

Trans people would often be in a single room. If I needed to be in hospital, I doubt I would be able to keep my wig looking respectable all the time, and you can’t sleep in a wig. I would not want my bald head on show. Some patients will not have had genital surgery. My aureoles are much smaller than most women’s, and I would be self-conscious showering with others. Trans people I have visited have had a single room.

Privacy and dignity are held out as objective values, but are not. They are subjective.

Subjectivity is the subject or person’s view of themself and the world. There may be an objective truth, a truth not dependent on the perception of minds, but it is extremely hard for minds to know it. We can attempt to understand the biases our minds create, and to eliminate them as far as possible, but not attain true objectivity.

It is not Objective Truth to say “trans women are men”. It involves the value judgment that genes, gonads and genitals matter more than the person’s sense of themself. A woman with a Y chromosome and androgen insensitivity syndrome, AIS, is a woman, according to her assignation at birth: the idea that she is more like a woman, so should be brought up and treated as a female, is subjective not objective. She has no cervix, no female reproductive system, and she will not grow breasts without hormonal intervention. The belief that AIS makes her a woman but the intransigent, incomprehensible belief that they are female does not stop trans women being men, is also entirely subjective.

When Kemi Badenoch opines that I am a man, even if the AIS woman is not, that is merely linguistic. Trans allies say I am a woman. If cis women see me in their ward and feel this is a threat to their dignity and privacy greater than being in hospital, sick, perhaps asleep when male hospital staff and visitors are a few feet from their bed, that I am a threat equally repugnant to being in a bed next to a man, that too is subjective.

Privacy and dignity are subjective. It is as if my privacy and dignity do not matter to the Ministers driving such a change to the NHS Constitution. The Ministers privilege their subjective feelings and ride roughshod over mine.

The current guidance suggests a curtain may be sufficient privacy, for trans women in women’s wards. It would not be, for a trans woman, in a men’s ward. Taking hormones, trans women develop breasts. Those of us who don’t need wigs have our hair in women’s styles. Moving from a single room to the stairs would be humiliating. It might even put pressure on trans women who might pass as men to conceal their trans status while in hospital: it might make us false to ourselves. Whether presenting female or male, being in a men’s ward would place additional stress on me, which I would not want while dealing with the actual health issue.

Safety is more objective. You can count how many assaults there are. Freedom of Information requests found no complaints about trans women in women’s wards.

Excluding trans women does not improve cis women’s “safety”. Saying that it does, is a slander on trans women. There have been abusive NHS staff: projecting threat onto harmless trans people makes patients less safe, as scrutiny is diverted from where it should be.

Trans exclusion has been bolted on to an NHS consultation which deals with real issues, and might even make small improvements. It is a non-issue, put in to grub for votes from hate and gain publicity for the Ministers.

4 thoughts on “Privacy, dignity and safety

  1. Are single sex/gender wards the norm in the UK? Over the past 10 years I have been admitted to hospital on several occasions. On every occasion I was in multi sex/gender wards. Likewise when I have visited family & friends in hospital they have been in wards with both male and female patients. That seems to be the norm in the public hospitals in the two cities nearest to where I live. There may be some single sex/gender wards, but I have not seen any for for quite a while.

    Privacy did not seem to be an issue as every bed had a double curtain rail that circles each bed so that when the curtains are drawn there’s a metre to two metre space between the bed and the two layers of curtain on three sides, the wall being at the head of the bed. I don’t think our hospitals have ever had communal showering – I’ve never seen it. And apart from one older ward, no toilets or showers were labelled as sex/gender specific.

    Some of the wards I was in had one or two private rooms near the entrance. Sometimes a patient would be wheeled into one of then for short periods or up to a day, I presume when additional privacy was wanted. When I found the the usual hubbub of the ward too much I would also be moved to one of those rooms to give me time out. If fortune was smiling I could occasionally have a room all to myself for more than a day. Bliss.

    Like

    • The current guidance says, patients should not have to share sleeping accommodation, toilets or bathrooms with the opposite sex, nor walk through opposite sex accommodation to reach their own, and there should be women-only day rooms in mental health wards. It is important to people here. In the 2019 document they take care of trans people, and now the Health Secretary is making a great deal of excluding trans women, for political gain. Such politicking increases bigotry generally.

      Liked by 2 people

    • I don’t know. The 2019 guidance on trans says “pre-operative trans people should not share open shower facilities”. I don’t know if there are such open shower facilities anywhere. It’s hard to get a bed- possibly, anyone who actually gets one couldn’t shower themselves anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.