Trans pride Brighton

I took the risk and wore the ballgown, though the forecast was 40+mph winds and thunderstorms. It did not rain, and I would have been peeved had I gone down in a cotton frock and raincoat. We walked down through Preston Park, me slightly apprehensive in this gorgeous thing. “Go for it,” said a woman, and I started a high which lasted the parade.

This gallery is showing work by Sharon Kilgannon for Pride. These people were passing by and I called them over, because of the affirmation. The Doc Martens shop also had a trans display, Marks and Spencers’ sign is in rainbow colours.

“Who’s this, then?” I asked. J furrowed his forehead theatrically.

Caroline Lucas, of course. Her speech was strong ally, on the Tory culture war, on self-declaration and medical services. I am sad she is standing down. Lloyd Russell-Moyle was good too.

I was interviewed by the mobile lav. Look out for videos.

Some placards: radical, political, humorous.

Marching.

Their energy leading chants felt beautifully masculine.

Wellwishers.

XR. I knew it was them when I heard the drumming.

We went to the meeting house and had lunch in the garden. Someone saw our signs and wanted to photograph us.

I wanted more pictures. I picked up my orb and sceptre in a tat shop.

I wrote this doggerel:

Trans joy
is being ourselves
and letting our gorgeousness shine
Trans joy
is walking with friends
though the Tory government whines.
We’re here and we’re queer
heads high without fear
we’re living our best, honest lives
So tell the trans kids
keep going, my dears
Transition is our way to thrive.

I don’t know where the tune comes from- maybe me.

6 thoughts on “Trans pride Brighton

  1. Some amazing photos, the ball gown looks great! I would love to travel down and experience Brighton Pride, do folks talk with strangers or do they just stay in the cliques they came with?

    Like

    • I talked with strangers. We did not have long conversations. I was with two others, so mostly we stayed together. I don’t know if anyone was alone: possibly anyone alone got into a group. I would be happy to go alone and know I could get talking, but I am normally happy starting conversations.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. How lovely to see you, looking great, being great and being part of something great. I was interested in the question about going alone as I went to Mardi Gla on Saturday (in Glasgow) but I did not take the opportunity to speak with anyone. Next time I’ll not cruise the parade and then hide in the music hub as I did on Saturday. I heard some great acts, including Horse McDonald, but did not use my voice. So glad to see you in your gown and celebratory mood.

    Like

All comments welcome.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.