Belem

To the cultural quarter. Tristão e Isolda is next week, alas. We miss it. The overcast sky is not ideal for photos, but the Centro Cultural is beautiful, clad in rose stone. I walk a wide stone passageway up to the Berardo Collection, alone in the off-season, and it feels empowering and liberating, not at all like the stark concrete ravine west of the National Theatre in London.

The Mosteiro dos Jeronimos is worth photographing in any light, even a phone snap which I cannot edit.

All the cloisters are intricately carved.

People are doing selfies, which I find difficult:

The refectory has stories in pictures, which I do not like.

The church from the gallery.

It is a tourist hubbub even now, so I say I want to pray, and go into a quieter side chapel. A woman presses her forehead to an altar below a statue of the Virgin.

There are so many artists in the Berardo overview of the twentieth century! I will not comment as I fear sounding Pooterish. Here is the church from the water garden.

4 thoughts on “Belem

  1. Stories in pictures are particularly (or would that be peculiarly?) intriguing to me -especially on a Sunday morning. This one may make up for the fact that I’m on the internet and missing Mass today….Even with few words, though, I have had to turn, once again, to the dictionary while reading your posts. Pooterish is not a common word in the US. Anyway, thanks for the pictures, and thanks for bolstering my vocabulary!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

