The effects of hormones

Taking oestrogen reduces your blood pressure. Or not.

There was a study published in 2015 of 23 trans women and 34 trans men commencing hormone treatment, measuring blood pressure, BMI, lipids and sex hormone levels at the start of treatment and six months after. Trans men continued menstruating throughout the time. The trans women’s blood pressure reduced from 130 to 120.

When a doctor takes my blood pressure I become tense, and they tell me this may give a falsely high result. Trans women beginning treatment are likely to relax. They are on their way, so their stress will reduce. So blood pressure reduces. These people are undergoing such an extreme life change that it is impossible to isolate one possible cause of change of blood pressure. “The study had insufficient power to detect other associations,” the summary says, and I wonder, decades after doctors started giving us hormones, that so little has been done to find what they do to us.

I wanted to read the article Priorities for Transgender Medical and Health Care Research, but it will be published on 1 April.

From 2007, there is an NHS leaflet, addressed to both trans men and women. The aim of hormone therapy is to make you feel more at ease with yourself, both physically and psychologically. That is, the fact of taking hormones, whatever effect they have physically, affirms your transition so makes you feel better. Some people find that they get sufficient relief from taking hormones so that they do not need to change their gender role or have surgery. I had decided to transition: I am transsexual, therefore I will transition to expressing female. A more fluid way of proceeding, trying things out, would have been better. I railroaded myself.

Hormones will affect your appearance, but you need to be realistic (the leaflet says). Fat may be redistributed, hair loss may reduce though probably not significantly reverse, facial hair may be easier to electrolyse, you may grow breasts though that might take years- ten years, in my case. You may have blood clots in brain, heart or veins: a woman I met in Thailand had a stroke a few months later. You should stop smoking, which increases risk: I was told you could not have hormones until you stopped.

If you start to feel better this is a good sign that you are having the right treatment. However, I railroaded myself. I committed to the whole thing. Moving forward on that track made me feel better, because I thought I had the solution, waiting at the end of the track.

You may find erection and orgasm harder to achieve. You may become infertile: it is not known when. You may become less interested in sex. This was a good thing for me, as I was so thoroughly ashamed of it, but I might have found better ways of living with it.

It is unethical and impossible to conduct a study comparing transition with other modes of treatment. People wait for years to see an NHS psychiatrist, and have definite ideas of what treatment we want. From Lili Elbe onwards, doctors have seemed delighted to have a subject they could try things out on, rather than merely wanting to find the best way to help, which might be to do nothing.

“You will need to take hormones for the rest of your life.” I was told I had to, to avoid the risk of osteoporosis.

Study: Effects of Cross-Sex Hormone Treatment on Transgender Women and Men.

Patient leaflet– A guide to hormone therapy for trans people, pdf.

norah-neilson-gray-self-portrait-1918

Go on, you know you want to

