Anger, pacifism, responding

Crazy shit going down. It is getting worse.

The Trade In Services Agreement could make us nostalgic for TTIP- which is not dead yet. To rival Investor-State Dispute Settlement, with the unaccountable judges private accountancy firms which have the investor-claimants as their clients, there is the Ratchet clause: once a service is privatised, it cannot be taken back into public control.

My friend also shared this article on gentrification sterilising London neighbourhoods. In Swanston there is a housebuilding programme, carefully worked to go with making the town London commuter territory and so make house prices increase. In around 1970, a lot of Londoners were taken out and dumped in the town, so that there are Nuptonshire accents and older London accents co-existing: and now, perhaps, they will be dumped further out.

People get angry about housing costs. When someone mentions housing costs I feel my hackles start to rise; and if they express stress distress or anger I go off on one. I have to leave to calm down. Like many emotional reactions, this does me no good. Someone said I should reflect on my expression in tranquility, and not show the envy, elation, disappointment, obsession that I felt so much, but I love my ardent, passionate side, and toning it down is fighting myself. If I were uncomfortable with my emotional expression, it is tempting to blame oestradiol, thinking if I were on my natural testosterone rather than synthetic hormones I would be more sensible; but this is me, and I doubt changing to T injections would improve me.

But when angry like that it might be better not to get whirled away in the feeling of the moment. They are angry, I think of my opportunities to buy a house, cheaper than it would be now, which I missed because I have never felt safe enough or sufficiently able to contemplate decades rather than weeks ahead, to commit. And I am fearful. That is the time to recognise and permit the emotion, and keep a part of consciousness aware of it- not suppressing it- but not overwhelmed by it, for I need conscious awareness of what is going on now, and a thoughtful response. I would rarely be angry with the people I am with, and if I were expressing it would rarely do good.

When I did tribunals, I would try so hard to get evidence for the claimant- but if I had tried, and got nowhere, I would give up and go on to the next one. Torquil was delighted that the professor of InterRel seemed so interested in him, and hurt that he was so dismissive when Torquil got too low a mark to enter the second year. Where may my ardour make a difference? I survey the wall, and if there is a crack in it I will try to break through there. This is precise and difficult work for a cool head. The ardour must be used as fuel, not ignited by random sparks.

“The UK shall become the global leader in free trade,” said Theresa May. She believes and desires that. This is truly terrifying. The main threats to humanity now are climate catastrophe, war-mongering, and the untrammelled power of multinationals to pay no tax, trample employment rights and cost-cut consumer safety. They will not take action when their ways of making money cause harm, unless they are held to account. The answers are publicly owned public services and international co-operation, as in the EU, to regulate large companies. What she calls “Free Trade” tramples on everything we need to save humanity.

St Paul: Bless those who persecute you, bless and do not curse. Quartz suggests empathy as an answer to anger and violence, and non-complementary behaviour, meeting anger and fear with an attempt to understand grievance, and compassion.

 

3 thoughts on “Anger, pacifism, responding

  1. Future for most young of today appears truly terrifying as housing prices prohibit them from being able to purchase a roof over their head and when they get old, on pension, rent will scoop most of it and they’ll go hungry and cold… they are the ones who must save themselves from such a bleak old age and we should help them

    Liked by 1 person

How do you feel about this?

