Seeing what is

-At least in theory, I understand other people have an existence separately from mine, with their own feelings and motivations: but mostly they are a mystery to me.

-I have a strong idea of what is right and wrong, and how individuals and groups should be. I expect these standards of myself, and also of others, and [attempt to] use disapproval to enforce them. I have little patience with failures.

-I have great patience with people in need, with disabled people or frightened people, and when I see I can do something to help will devote great energy to that.

-I have an instinctive understanding of people, and form useful first impressions quickly.

It seems I could make each of these statements, believing it at the time. They could be different parts of myself, fulfilling different needs. They could be different circumstances, some of which I see well, some unclearly. They could be me at different times, in one feeling confident and secure, in another doubtful and apprehensive. That is, I cannot know how I will respond in a particular situation and imagining it can get in the way: the only answer is to be in the moment and seek to see what is now. The monkey mind is in imagined past or future, and at best irrelevant now. Fortunately, I can often respond now, well enough.

And, each of those statements is an observation of how I have been, at one time or another.

Here, Rheam melds his mythic and realistic modes:

Henry Meynell Rheam, Violets, 1904

What do you think?

