God is on my side

The Bible is full of wonderful verses for the self-righteous. If you argue with them, it just proves they are right!

The person without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God but considers them foolishness, and cannot understand them because they are discerned only through the Spirit. – I Corinthians 2:14

Jesus said, I have said this to you, so that in me you may have peace. In the world you face persecution. But take courage; I have conquered the world!’ John 16:33. So your disagreement shows you are a persecutor, destined for hell.

And Jesus said, If the world hate you, you know that it hated me before it hated you. John 15:18. You disagree with me because you hate Christ.

Hear also what St Paul, or Pseudo-Paul saith: all that will live godly in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution. 2 Timothy 3:12. And  Ephesians 2:2 – “in which you formerly walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, of the spirit that is now working in the sons of disobedience.” 2nd Corinthians 4:4 – “in whose case the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelieving so that they might not see the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.” 1 John 5:19 – “We know that we are of God, and that the whole world lies in the power of the evil one.” You are still right, though everyone disagrees: and if you like the idea of a Remnant, you are even right if Christians disagree.

How will the Christian respond? “Love your enemies. Do good to those who hate you. Pray for the happiness of those who curse you. Pray for those who hurt you.” Luke 6:27-28. So I show Love by correcting your false understanding, and telling you you will go to Hell if you do not do what I say (that is, obey God’s Commands).

If you know more good verses for a self-righteous Christian, please share in the comments.

ΑΩΑΩΑΩΑΩΑΩΑΩ

I shall continue adding verses as I go. Someone quoted at me, 2Corinthains [sic] 4:4 In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them. She added your language, your attitude, your overall presentation speaks more of the god of this world and not Jehovah God of the Bible. In other words, Hear God through me! If you disagree, you have been blinded by Satan!

Pompeii fresco, Zeus enthroned

10 thoughts on “God is on my side

  1. As an atheist I often shock and surprise self-righteous Christians with my knowledge of the Bible. Most are unaware I was once a Baptist. So when I come up against such, I tend to turn immediately to good old Saint Matthew, whose gospel I have always loved, even when I was a Christian. In particular I quote them Matthew 7:1-5:

    “Judge not, that ye be not judged. For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again. And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? Or how wilt thou say to thy brother, Let me pull out the mote out of thine eye; and, behold, a beam is in thine own eye? Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.”

    Of course, you get those who think that they are so righteous that they think they can do no wrong – I believe there is a name for that, please enlighten me, Clare – and in such cases, rather than the Bible I suggest that they go read James Hogg’s “The Private Memiors and Confessions of a Justified Sinner”, and see just how dangerously close to the antihero of that work they actually are.

    You could also give them Matthew 5:22:

    “But I say unto you, That whosoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment: and whosoever shall say to his brother, Raca, shall be in danger of the council: but whosoever shall say, Thou fool, shall be in danger of hell fire.”

    In the end you could remind them that they are guilty of hubris by agruing in the first place by quoting Matthew 5:37:

    “But let your communication be, Yea, yea; Nay, nay: for whatsoever is more than these cometh of evil.”

    All quotations are King James Version.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. While I pride myself on my self-awareness (foolishly or not), I must also acknowledge my own self righteousness. I try to have a sense of humor about it but I often wonder if my significant self-righteousness is rooted in my conservative evangelical upbringing.

    Like

What do you think?

