Compassion III

I know that when another’s compassion touches me, it can change my life, letting me see things in a new way, giving me hope and new energy to act as I could not before. I know that my compassion can warm others, and when it does it delights me.

I know that compassion, when not life-changing, can change my day: when another driver lets me pull out, I find myself behaving more courteously to others, and imagine a chain reaction of courtesy spreading across the city’s roads. When tempted to react to another driver’s discourtesy, compassion saves me from that: he is rushing, and perhaps his wife’s waters have broken; he is slow, and does not know where he is, and needs to take care to find the way.

I know that these small experiences and understandings of a moment’s compassion can help me give and receive compassion better. I take them into my heart, they warm me and help me value myself. I learn from them, and improve my practice, and see it benefits me.

I know that when I work with another compassion between us oils the wheels so that we work together more happily and more productively.

I know that when I behave altruistically, I gain joy.

I know that I feel compassion when I hear of people suffering on another continent, then may feel powerless. It is too much. There is nothing I can do, so I must take comfort from the acts I can perform in my own community. And I know that so many of us feel that same compassion, and that some blessed individuals can channel and direct this compassion so that it changes others’ lives: with that leadership we can act together and improve the conditions of clothing workers in Bangladesh or chickens laying eggs in barns.

I know that every thought or act of compassion, however small, has value for giver and receiver.

I know that people are naturally compassionate. We have mirror neurons in our brains which make us feel what another feels. I know that this is a great gift, because it binds us together and helps us to work together and when we are together we are so powerful.

I know that perfect love drives out all fear. I know God Who is Love.

I am delighted to be part of 1000 voices speak for compassion. This page introduces it. Here is the link to all the posts. Join us!

7 thoughts on “Compassion III

    • Indeed. It has to be learned. George Eliot has the image of walking along an easy road, picking up palm branches-

      oh, search for it-

      That is the path we all like when we set out on our abandonment of egoism- the path of martyrdom and endurance, where the palm branches grow, rather than the steep highway of tolerance, just allowance and self-blame, where there are no leafy honours to be gathered and worn.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Imagining a chain reaction of courtesy spreading across the city’s roads … Oooh if that happened everywhere the world would be a much better place!

    I love this – small acts grow and spread out and make a difference. You never know who you will impact.

    Like

  2. Pingback: More #1000Speak: My Favorite 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion Posts Thus Far | confessions of a broccoli addict

Go on, you know you want to

