20 thoughts on “Trans privilege

  1. I can’t believe that bingo/beer poster. Really???? How dumbed down is the UK these days. That is very depressing.

    I don’t know if I am a TERF or not. I know a lot are. I think the confusion is about denying your identity ( ie yours, I don’t), but wanting MtoF to admit they have had male privilege that women have never had. Of course that totally ignores the inherent bias that society has against trans people.

    I’ll shut up and let you write a post about rad fems who exclude trans women. I have seen feathers plucked, fur pulled out and blood shed over that one.

    Like

      • Well I did read that originally and commented.

        It’s hard to describe how some women accept you as trans and a woman, but not born a woman I guess. Not mine to worry about. I take you for who you are but I do understand the other point of view.

        The real feminist issue is pat/kyri. And to some extent, you subscribe to that.

        Like

        • If you can refer to me as “she” and treat me like a normal human being I am fine with that. I am not so hung up on the theory as I was: whatever caused me to be like this, I would not change it. However when transitioning I was caught up on theory. I thought if I was not a “real transsexual” (however defined) I should not transition.

          What affects most people is Patriarchy, but I prefer the word “Kyriarchy” because other oppressions matter too, especially racism, heteronormativity, body image matters…

          Like

          • Of course I refer to you as she or her or Clare. That’s your choice and I respect that. What’s difficult about that?

            Patriarchy matters more to me, but I accept kyri. It is pretty new though. We all have our own agendas. Yours is trans. Mine is animal rights, feminism, workers’ rights, the environment …zzzz

            Like

  2. Well, we’d still be British (like it or not) if the King and Parliament had not tried to tax us for their own colonial wars … so, really, I’d best stay out of this argument. Americans love the British because, in their heart of hearts, they’re still British. We were pushed out of the nest by our nasty parents !

    Like

    • What if the Louisiana Purchase had not gone through? It went as far north and west as parts of Montana, Colorado and Minnesota. Without that, you might have reunited with us. From a position of greater equality, it might have worked.

      Like

      • It should have worked, really. Historians are clear: we did not want independence. He thought we were British. We just wanted a voice in Parliament. It might have changed the course of history in terms of Canada, Australia, etc. … a model if unity. However …

        Like

  3. I heard a conspiracy theory recently. It is summarised as politicians driving the electorate to be apathetic, on the grounds all politicians are as bad as each other. Then you get famous comedians like Russell brand to say voting is pointless. Then Nobody uses their voices, or their vote, because what good does it do anyway. Finally, the small few turning the cogs get to do anything they want because the rest of us don’t believe anything we do can possibly change anything anyway. So we do nothing.
    I poo pooed this theory. Then I read these election posters. Aaarrrggghhh.

    Like

    • In the East Midlands, a UKIP vote is a vote for Roger Helmer, who was elected as a Conservative MEP in 1999 and defected to UKIP in 2012. He works with ALEC, an American organisation which works among other things to reduce corporate regulation and tighten voter identification rules, in many states requiring photo ID which poorer voters may not possess. That is, his bandwagon is populist, but his actions are elitist. “Get our country back”, he says, while seeking to give it away.

      Like

  4. I saw a great interview with Nigel from UKIP on the BBC where he was asked why his German wife, his PA, was taking British jobs. I had to google TERF. The ‘privilege’ buzzword debates make me cringe, although I understand they have some value.

    Like

  5. @ Clare, I really like that cartoon, it says alot, but possibly only to people who understand the issues.

    @ violet I wouldn’t describe privilege as a buzzword, it’s been around for some time, whether referring to cis, male, white, rich, educated, whatever. The problem with it, is that it refers to huge layers of societal and prejudiced thinking and tries to encompass it one word. And unless you have been in circles (eg RF) ones that do debate it, its hard to get the concept. I don’t mean you, I mean people who aren’t used to using it. Power would probably work equally as well. You could use the monty python sketch (I look down on you).

    But it is all about exclusion, and superiority.

    On one rad fem forum I was on, men were allowed. On another, they weren’t. There was a total split about trans, and there probably always will be.

    Like

      • It makes sense, actually. If the only differences between men and women are genitalia on the one hand and cultural/patriarchal on the other, it follows that I remain a man, should be excluded from women’s space including changing rooms, and should be referred to as male.

        The problems are:

        Some of what they say seems hating or fearful and obsessive. There are not that many of us. We are not so important.

        We generally resist transition until we can do no other. Cut us a little slack.

        Like

What do you think?

