Comment policy

/.jpg/476px-Vittorio_Reggianini_Eavesdropping.jpgWhat do you want from comments?

I want to enjoy blogging. It most interests me when it is a dialogue, responding to what someone writes. Comments, generally, please me.

I have some fun with nutcase Christian blogs. When they say that God abominates gay people, I tell them to repent. Here is a man who says women should not be police officers because that is far too manly a role for women, and therefore it goes against God’s design. My comment that he is a fuckwit got through. Other comments are more BDSM than Christian. So what if he commented here? Should I reciprocate his publishing my comment?

No. I might let through one, if it showed quite how appalling he is, but I do not want that level of stupidity here. I am psyching myself up, really. Usually I want to be Nice, but why be nice to someone like that?

It is only not “My blog my rules” because there are no rules. What I don’t like may be trashed. If there is some meeting of minds, I might engage in argument, until it bores me. I find the bee in Spookchristian’s bonnet, that the Pope is the Antichrist, equally repellent and ridiculous. I let his comments through for a bit, because his coming here after I insulted him and saying things like “hope you forgive me” is pitiable, but he adds nothing here.

I welcome disagreement, especially if amusingly expressed.

File:Reggianini Frau mit Kätzchen.jpg

And feel free to tell me how wonderful I am.

The basic comment policy is, don’t piss me off. It has to really piss me off- one woman escalated, and had to call me “you sick fuck” before I trashed her comment- but I can’t, at the moment, put in words what might and might not piss me off, even with the standard disclaimer “my decision is final”.

Here is a sample comment policy. The owner of this blog reserves the right to edit or delete any comments submitted to this blog without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time.  Well, yes, and it should not need saying. But I won’t necessarily delete profanity, or personal attacks, if I find them witty, or enjoy insulting the commenter. I cannot draft all the exceptions. But I won’t edit comments, unless followed immediately by another saying there is a mis-type: I may correct mis-types, but editing the comment offends me.

The Catholic News Service tells us to be positive: Just stick to the issue being discussed and leave out the personalities. Back up your argument, telling why you disagree instead of saying that someone’s suggestion is stupid. Remember, Jesus had strong views, but he didn’t tear us down to illustrate his points or bring us salvation. I searched that blog for gay marriage, and found an article so anodyne– some people are against it, some people are for- that it attracted no comments at all, or comments so insulting, foul or spammy that they could not get through.

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/8a/Vittorio_Reggianini_%28Italian%2C_1858-1939%29%2C_The_Appreciative_Audience_29.5_x_40in._Bonhams..jpg/1024px-Vittorio_Reggianini_%28Italian%2C_1858-1939%29%2C_The_Appreciative_Audience_29.5_x_40in._Bonhams..jpg

17 thoughts on “Comment policy

  1. My comment policy is this: since I am a human and not a robot or computer that acts on a binary process of ones and zeros, I will act as humans do, which may not always be consistent. What pisses me off one day, will make me howl with laughter the next. I lost my temper (not online) so insanely yesterday I thought that I was going crazy – this was a new experience for me and I am still quite stunned by the whole experience. I am now learning to delight in my inconsistency, because I recognise it for what it is – the ability to be flexible and learn from all experiences that come my way, whether that be a lesson learned about myself, or others. So one day my limits for what is acceptable will be miles long, another they will barely reach outside my own skin. So be it! It’s your blog. There are no laws as to what you can and cannot do. If we as a species hadn’t learned to adapt and change, we wouldn’t have made it out of the primordial swamp (and IMHO, some have still not managed to breathe oxygen, even now….).
    Looking forward to disagreeing with you some day! 🙂
    PS. Lovely, lovely pictures! I’m not usually a fan of this kind of art, but I adore Reggianini’s ability to capture the qualities of the clothing – exquisite!

    Like

    • Human. Yes.

      This is not quite my living room: more the courtyard in front of it, where I pontificate, or a party I have organised, which I want to be boisterous but not threatening. It is mine, though.

      I love that woman’s expression, the eavesdropper. There is a knowingness, energy, good humour, about this kitsch.

      Like

  2. After a while one realises that one needs to have a comment policy in a visible place on the blog site. Comments can come that are most unsavoury – especially if the topic of the blog gets “touchy” or can get some people revving … Even when you publish your comment policy some comments can arrive that are in blatant breach of policy – on purpose? to stop you blogging? But, once you publish your policy it is so much easier to moderate or delete comments. Mine is as follows:

    Disclaimer, Terms and Conditions:
    All content on “Croatia, the War, and the Future” blog is for informational purposes only. “Croatia, the War, and the Future” blog is not responsible for and expressly disclaims all liability for the interpretations and subsequent reactions of visitors or commenters either to this site or its associate Twitter account, @IVukic or its Facebook account. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers and the writer will take full responsibility, liability, and blame for any libel or litigation that results from something written in or as a direct result of something written in a comment. The nature of information provided on this website may be transitional and, therefore, accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed. This blog may contain hypertext links to other websites or webpages. “Croatia, the War, and the Future” does not control or guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness or completeness of information on any other website or webpage. We do not endorse or accept any responsibility for any views expressed or products or services offered on outside sites, or the organisations sponsoring those sites, or the safety of linking to those sites. Comment Policy: Everyone is welcome and encouraged to voice their opinion regardless of identity, politics, ideology, religion or agreement with the subject in posts or other commentators. Personal or other criticism is acceptable as long as it is justified by facts, arguments or discussions of key issues. Comments that include profanity, offensive language and insults will be moderated.

    Like

    • Yours is a political blog, and your comments will be different to mine: and they may be from a wide spectrum of views. Given the recent war, views on Croatian politics may be strongly held and mutually offensive. Thank you for sharing your policy, it seems well drafted.

      Like

  3. Love the pictures today. I get really irritated with people who have comments policies – In many respects it’s like reserving the right to put your fingers in your ears and go ‘la la la la’. But then I realise that my blog is anonymous and my posts are rarely if ever about me, so I’m in the position that all comments are removed from me personally. I think it’s different for people who write about themselves and under their own names, and it seems that those who link to Twitter have a greater chance of attracted nasty and stupid trolls.

    I enjoy it when people disagree with my point of view, and if they write any silly or offensive things I feel it’s a direct reflection on them so have no issue with leaving horrendous comments. I think I did delete a short thread of pointless unrelated argument that two people were having on a very long comment thread, but told them both first I was going to do it and why and they were fine with it.

    Anyway, saying all that, I totally agree with the first comment by Freya as well – there’s no need to have black and white rules about such things.

    Like

    • I think my main rule is “don’t be an arse”. After I comment on gay-bashing blogs, some of the bloggers come here. DM Green, in particular, was stupid as well as offensive. He quickly got tiresome. Eventually I deleted him. Only one comment is needed to show that he is an idiot.

      I was browsing for pictures, and love these. They are deeply kitschy, especially the Frau mit Katschen, but the technical skill is actually quite high.

      The word “troll” seems to have changed meaning. Classically, it is “trawling” for a response: I write two lines of provocative matter, and get a long, thought through response. I am doing it here, at the moment (though if Neal notices this comment, he would probably ban me). I troll because I loathe the blogger and commenter who is responding, and want to wind them up. Now, trolling is far less skilful: it merely means being nasty on line. O Tempora! O Mores!

      Like

      • I don’t even see that you are “trawling” for a response in that blog. You seem to be pointing out the flaws in different arguments, and I think it’s important that someone does this in public forums that could otherwise be everyone agreeing that homosexuality is ‘sinful’. Don’t loathe them – they are just products of the environment and culture they live in. People like that are changing one by one as they come in contact with same sex couples who aren’t the repulsive, evil gremlins they’ve imagined.

        Like

        • I would not distinguish it. I am saying what I believe; but I imagine trolls saying things they believe, though we usually think of them as saying something repulsive.

          I don’t think these particular Christians understand. I think they are at a reduced level of maturity, and people free enough to enter a gay relationship perplex them. But I am still loathing, I hope it is a stage I will pass through.

          Like

  4. I don’t know that I have a policy in olace, mostly because I have a different type of blog and thankfully have not had any rude “assholish” comments. I hear your points though and I think if faced with that I would most likely just delete the comments.

    Like

  5. I’ve had a couple people challenge things I’ve written, but as long as they’re civil, I can have a conversation with them and simply disagree and I do leave those kinds of comments on the posts. – When I post something that I know will be controversial, I state at the beginning of the post that “comments that are not civil will not be considered relevant and will not appear on the post.” (My ‘settings’ are such that comments from first time commenters ‘await moderation’) – What I have had problems with is when I’d comment on other peoples comments. I don’t do that anymore unless I take the time to go to their blog first and see what they’re about. Its usually obvious right away if they’re narrow minded (the nicest way I can put it) and then I realize engaging them through comments would be a waste of my time.

    Like

    • WordPress encourages us to interact with comments to encourage them. I tend to interact to discourage, sometimes. Not responding is a good option. Not responding does not mean agreement.

      I tend to read your posts, and only glance through the comment thread if I have something particular to comment. Here, because much of the traffic goes to the home page and archives rather than specific posts, I don’t think the comments get seen much, anyway.

      Like

      • Thank you for that. I can honestly tell you that I do “read” your posts when I visit your blog. (There’s not enough hours in the day to visit all of the blogs I follow and all of the posts.) Your content does give me other points of view which is always good and that combined with your honesty makes your posts informative and inspiring. – I also glance through other comments if I leave one of my own if it’s a serious subject, I learn from them too. It’s not that I always agree, but it shows what different perspectives people are approaching things from. And from someone living in another country, it’s always unique for me. I love that aspect about blogging. It’s kind of another way of travelling around the world. LOL.

        Like

        • It is sad that it has to be said, isn’t it? Some posts are just a picture, which appears in the feed: those are the only ones I “Like” without visiting. I do not “Like” without considering the post, I do not Follow without intending to read a fair proportion of the posts.

          Thank you for your loving words.

          Like

    • Hello again. The closest thing to spam I have published recently is Queenzdesire’s comment: She is not really responding to anything in my blog, just saying come to hers. But she does not do a great deal of harm.

      You can laugh at your commenters, rather than with them. It is allowed.

      Like

How do you feel about this?

