Blogging

I got my Clustrmap on 13 February, and noticed eagerly the number of countries from which I have visitors. When I found people had visited from 45 US states (plus the District of Columbia, which I had not known was not a state) I sought to complete the set. I have been leaving comments on all sorts of blogs since I started. I love getting comments, they show interest and engagement with what I write. I doubt I deal with a subject so completely that there is nothing to add, and no alternative view. I assume others like comments too. I hope they will visit here.

I find blogs through the tag surfer. There are so many blogs about Alaska by outsiders, because of its beauty, or perhaps ecological issues. In Alaska, I found a man who wants to give Sarah Palin away permanently. So much of the US seems to take her to their hearts, but then they send her back. I sympathised. Also a Lutheran gay pastor: Christian queer spirituality is right up my street, and I expressed my appreciation. That led me on to Bent Alaska, and a post which I found deeply moving.

In Tupelo, Mississippi, where Elvis grew up, I found this gorgeous photograph, and gushed about it. Possibly Zann realised what I was after, commenting “I’ll be sure to check out your blog as well”- and she did. So I had my wee red dot, and also a brief connection with a creative human being on another continent. What we do, this loose networking, is magical.

In Hawai’i, I found Father James. I commented on both blogs before I was aware they were by the same Orthodox priest. I love those two posts, about showing respect though deeply moved, and using possessions, not hoarding them. My line that “Possessions are like the air in your lungs. If you do not breathe out, you suffocate” is inspired by it, and adds a little. I am pleased with it. And now there is that red dot out in the Pacific.

In South Dakota, I was pleased to find the word “hunnert“, which I thought only Scots, and surprised to hear that it was remarkable that someone would talk of fifty “head” of cattle rather than fifty cows. Doesn’t everyone? I don’t think I have my red dot from that blog, so keep trying.

In Delaware there is the Delaware Challenge, which moves me, and Susan Hendrich, talking of how to work smarter. These test my ability to leave comments which are worth saying, and take me beyond my usual queer spirituality comfort zone. On the latter, I see the marker of a particular blogger, who goes about tirelessly “Liking” all sorts of posts, also to generate traffic. I have had his likes here.  

Canada has ten provinces, Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan, and three territories, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon. Of these, I have had contact from seven provinces. Australia has six states and various territories, from Heard Island to Norfolk Island. I want contact, I want different perspectives. I want to hear what Africans and Chinese people have to say.

6 thoughts on “Blogging

    • Try it, Namrata. I am also very pleased to have had visitors from Maharashtra, Delhi, Orissa, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh, Rajasthan, Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, West Bengal, Meghalaya and Uttar Pradesh.

  1. I like that you are truly interested in engaging others. So often I find that people will like or comment only to acquire the numbers, but that is not your goal.
    I was fascinated by the map on your blog and not long after you got it, I had to have one, too! I hope you’ll have the whole world filled with red dots very soon. Blessings!

    • In your case, my interest in your subject: I have never been self-employed, but have had difficulty with time allocation. So I named a problem with it, and your quotes were helpful. Thank you. Not many posts are tagged “Delaware”, but then I have not tagged any Northamptonshire. In other cases, my wish to encourage.

Please comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 828 other followers

