Confessional

So why, this blog? Why all this confession? Because I think it will advance my healing.

As I quoted before,

Jesus said: “When you undress without being ashamed and take your clothes and put them under your feet like little children and trample on them, then you will see the son of the Living One, and you will not be afraid.”

Also see this video of Bruce Muzik giving a TED talk, on YouTube, which I am not entirely sure of intellectually, and yet I am doing it.

In 1998, I did a course in counselling skills level one, and was introduced to the work of Carl Rogers.

organismic self

This bowled me over, and started my conscious search for growth and awareness. There is a human animal which knows what it desires and how to get it, which is the organismic self. With conditional positive regard from parents and others, the ego develops seeing itself as the person they wish, the “self-concept”. However, this means that a lot of what the person thinks about himself is a false self-image, and he cannot bring to admit to himself the shadow which other people had not accepted in him. The aim of counselling, with empathy, congruence and unconditional positive regard (Love) is to make the self-concept congruent with the organismic self. The aim of spiritual growth is to discover and truly accept the full richness of onesself as a human being. This may be what Eliot was getting at:

We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.

When I came upon these ideas, I thought I was more like this:

organismic self

and now, I hope, like this:Organismic self 3

so I make public my shame and my weakness, so that I need not expend energy on it any more. And I can understand and accept why I would have been like that, and can transcend it.

Actually it is possible that “my confession will be good for others”. I have been read by at least one woman with similar experiences to my own, and we have shared how good it is to hear these experiences. But chiefly, I am doing this for me.

Oh, Christianity is a strange thing. I have known the cliche “Confession is good for the soul” for years, and even parroted it, and now know the truth of it more.

2 thoughts on “Confessional

  1. It is interesting to note that in socially advanced societies, in which all participants are equally respected, children are cared for by elders and young people are allowed to have procreative fun, there is no insistence on this strange idea that there are only two sexes. As with everything else in nature, that cannot be so. Nothing in nature is so clear cut, and many traditiionally accepting cultures – which we have used to call “backward” and “uncivilised” recognise several permutations of sexual presentation, without batting an eyelid.

    Trying to fit everything in to a belief system so fixated on “two halves” with no allowance for shades of grey, is very like kindergarden thinking. I hope that we are growing beyond this, now, into a general acceptance that it matters more what people do for and with each other, than what they are (perceived to be).

    Love

    Ann xx

    Like

What do you think?

