Andrei Rublev

Given that among the best searches leading to my blog are “agios oros” and “Pefkis Ikonen”, I present to you my other icon.

father-pefkis-the-angels-at-mamre-trinity

It is of the angels at Mamre, who represent the Trinity: the Greek transliterates as “Hagia Trias”, Holy Trinity. Again, it comes from Mount Athos. I bought it in the cathedral at Le Puy en Velay, where a pilgrim offered to pray for me (it is always good to know someone is praying for me).

For those looking for icons, I recommend Icons Explained, a voluminous site including details of hagiographers (icon painters) from all over the world. The link from there to Fr. Pefkis no longer works. When I came home, I did some Googling but could not find a source for the Mount Athos icons, and it seems to me that, possibly, these handmade icons are sold for far less than they might fetch as a service to God and the community; that they are devotional tools seeking devotional use, not the home of the collector or even the connoisseur. In my last flat, this icon hung at the end of the hallway, visible as I came in the front door or went to the kitchen. I sat meditating on it. Now it is on my shelves, and I glimpse it when I look up from the television.

It appealed to me because the figures look so feminine, and so reassure me that I, too, am made in the image of God.

I still want a Pantocrator. I think it is worth the search. Perhaps in some cathedral shop I will find something so beautiful: or perhaps see one in a church somewhere, and find that seeing it is enough, I do not need to possess it.

4 thoughts on “Andrei Rublev

  1. Breathtaking!! The light is simply divine. Yes, they are feminine and masculine both. The stylized tattoo my partner has on her forearm is more feminine but still androgynous. I read once (Yvette Flunder) the thought that a transsexual person especially allowed her a glimpse of God who transcends gender… (I rather think if God exists that God encompasses all gender, if that’s what Yvette meant by transcending.)

    Like

    • I would like to see that tattoo. I would photograph each figure in turn. I had not heard of Yvette Flunder, but I found this excellent video. The site it is on spouts rubbish about it, but I like the preaching. I think it is wonderful how our enemies spread the Word! And on the trans-sex-cending God, you have man in you which you can bring out when needed.

      Like

What do you think?

